Western Papua, Indonesia: June 2012 – Part 1

breanna.rae.miller

You would think that traveling halfway around the world would send me into culture shock.  On the contrary, the further away from home I go, the more I realize that the people where I travel aren’t much different from the people at home.  We all have similar goals and desires, work to provide for our families, and have ways of relaxing and playing during our free time.  Most importantly I have found that we all recognize that a smile means, “Hello, how are you? ” no matter which language you speak.  What makes travel so exciting in the end is all of the small differences that remind you that you aren’t in familiar territory, all the while discovering that we are all very much the same.

For my latest adventure, my boyfriend and I, spent 3-weeks in June traveling from Boulder, Colorado to Western Papua, Indonesia.  After 3-days of flights…

View original post 1,496 more words

Leave a Reply

